Call Now for a Free Attorney Consultation
Evening and Weekend Appointments Available
443-524-7395866-697-0013

What are the Penalties for Driving on a Suspended License in Maryland?

Suspended LicenseAccording to Maryland law, driving is not a right, but a privilege. If you’re over the age of sixteen, chances are you have a driver’s license and rely on this license to be able to get from Point A to Point B every day. So what happens when this privilege is revoked and you can’t drive to work, get your kids to the school, or get to the store? Some choose to drive on a suspended license anyway and have to pay the consequences if and when they are caught.  Unfortunately for suspended drivers, with the advent of technology the chances of getting caught have increased quite a bit over the last several years and here’s why. If you have driven by a cop car lately and seen an ugly black box secured to the trunk of the police cruiser, typically one box on each side of the trunk, that box is a camera which is taking pictures of every car that it passes and simultaneously running those plates against the MVA in real time.  The cop is immediately notified if the owner of that car is suspended and the cop then takes the appropriate action.  There may be some legal challenges to such a stop in this situation, but the police can cast a much wider net utilizing technology than was possible only a few years past.

There are two different types of charges for driving on a suspended license.

  1. Suspended for Administrative Sanction 16-303(h)- The first of the two charges is not actually related to driving. If your license is suspended for not paying a fine or not showing up to a court date, you will receive this charge, which is the lesser of the two. The penalties can include up to 60 days in jail, a $500 fine, and up to three points towards your driving record.
  2. Suspended for Reckless/negligent Driving 16-303(c) – The more severe of the two charges, this one has harsher penalties than the first. You can receive this charge for driving on a suspended license because you incurred too many points, an outstanding warrant, DUI, etc. It can carry up to a year in jail, a $1000 fine, and 12 points towards your driving record.

If you have been charged with driving on a suspended license, you need to retain a good criminal defense lawyer. The Law Offices of Robinson & Associates has been successfully practicing criminal defense law for over twenty years. We know that the possibility of a hefty fine and/or prison term looming over your head can take a significant toll both physically and emotionally, and we’re here to help you 24 hours a day.

To learn more about our blog, What are the Penalties for Driving on a Suspended License?, or to schedule your free consultation, give Robinson & Associates a call at 443-524-7395. You can also follow us on Facebook, Twitter, and Google+.

 

Tags: ,

Proudly serving all of Maryland, including Baltimore City, Baltimore County, Howard County, Anne Arundel County, Montgomery County, Harford County, and Carroll County.